A. Grace
1 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Thanks for reading and responding!

You’re absolutely right. Prevention is always better than treatment. But, I believe they will also create a system that prevents further harm in some cases. For example, by encouraging farmers to use more sustainable practices, they can remediate and cause less damage in the future.

The free market is absolutely not the best steward for nature, I agree. Unfortunately, though, this is the system we live in, and many won’t stand for nature just existing to exist like it should be able to. It might be defeatist or naive, but I do have a small hope that getting those who create these problems on board with not doing that or at least attempting to repair some of the damage could make a difference.

Whenever I read about the history of conservation, profit is always a sticking point between big businesses and conservationists, and corporations win so often. It’d be a big deal to me if we could all get on the same page, even it’s for different reasons. I’m very nervous but crossing my fingers in hopes that they do the right thing.

--

--

A. Grace

Grace writes fiction & articles on various topics in the western U.S. She is also a photographer, dog mom, and nature lover! Buy her a coffee: Ko-fi.com/agrace